Product Architecture and a 1969 Mustang Grande. Welcome Wes!

Do you ever wonder how you ended up in a place in the course of your life?  I do that, especially today.  If you had told me 2 months ago that I would have the opportunity to build upon dreams (both s/w & h/w) started by others and have a ton of fun doing it; I would have laughed heartily.  Yet, that is exactly what has happened.  At the beginning of March, 2011, I was employed as an Information System Architect for a large independent Oil & Gas company, specializing in Engineering, Operations & Automation applications and the proud owner of a 2005 Mustang GT that I pampered by only driving in our very short Canadian summer.

Now, two months later in May, 2011; I am working for geoLOGIC, as lead product architect on their existing new foundational PPDM based application (aptly) called ‘PPDM in a Box’ or PiaB.  I have also bought a classic, no make that antique 1969 Mustang Grande.  So how are these two ventures similar, you ask?  Well, they were both started by others; Pat Rhynes being the lead author on ‘PPDM in a Box’ and Tim Robinson being the initial ‘deep pockets’ owner of the ’69 Mustang.  Now, it’s not that either visionary become disillusioned with their baby; just the opposite.  Pat felt that now was the time to find someone who shared his vision on what can be built on top of the PPDM data model for the Oil & Gas industry, a person to take PiaB to the next level.  Tim realized that his passion has moved to more on-line ventures (as shown by posts/blog at www.blackstag.com).  That his ‘baby’ needed a good home with someone who would honor the car and not start again, someone who valued what had been done and wants to take it to the next level.  Well, enter me; in both cases.

And of course, I am not doing it alone.  PiaB is a joint application from geoLOGIC & EnergyIQ; that’s my day job.  In my off hours, I am working on the Mustang with my daughter’s boyfriend.  So, we will all learn as a team and succeed as a team.  And that’s a key component; realizing that a team can produce faster results that are undeniably better than any individual.

My life, both professionally and privately will be full over the next months and years caring for and building on the visions started by my friends Pat & Tim.  I have included a picture of the Mustang.

Ain’t she a beaut!  Thanks Tim.  I will take care of it. I would like to think of a new license plate for it (the “old” 05 was named ‘Gray Matters’; a play on the colour of the car as well as the colour of the stuff between our collective ears as well as a play on the colour of my hair… sigh but I digress).  I would post a picture of a screenshot from PiaB, but you gotta admit that it’s kinda boring.  But if you want to see it, please contact me at geoLOGIC (wbaird@geologic.com) and I can give you a demo.  Thanks Pat for laying a firm frame on the solid PPDM foundation.

Now that I have introduced the two new passions in my life; I will be sharing the journey with you and the similarities between PiaB (the s/w) and ’69 Mustang (the h/w).  And of course, everyone wants both up and running ASAP; PiaB to do Well Data Management and the Mustang to cruise down Lakeshore Drive, stopping in at the local A&W.  With our short Canadian summers, I am going to have to Design & Construct at the same time.  Might as well have twice the fun!

And so, dear readers; wish me luck on being passionate day & night.  I will try and keep you up to date with the experience of having too much fun and so little time.

About kristigartner

Marketing and Communications Lead at geoLOGIC systems ltd since 2008.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Product Architecture and a 1969 Mustang Grande. Welcome Wes!

  1. Pingback: Who’s Dat Baby? | geoLOGIC

Leave a Reply

